Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time

Hey – what can I tell you?  Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time was my – erm, The Tempus Fugitives’ – first album, released in 2015. It took forever to record, but that’s not too surprising since I had no idea what I was doing. But that was kind of the point – I’ve wanted to do studio work since I was a wee sprout, and the Tempus Fugitives and Legendary Third Bedroom Studios gave me the opportunity to learn and do it.

I produced and recorded it with help from Terry Carleton at Bones & Knives Studio in San Jose. Terry also played drums and sang (1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10). Tim Volpicella recorded and played guitars (5, 11) at Open Path Studios.

​Lynea Diaz Hagen (5) and Susy Boyd (7) provided killer vocals. Jeff “Hawkeye” Sanders (5, 6) and the amazing Jason Loughlin (9, 10) played guitar, Dale Hymes (7, 9, 10, 11), Hawkeye (1) and Wing Keong Loo (5) played bass, and Lisa Rutta (2) and John Garcia (5) played drums.​

Rob Gillette mastered the album at Private Hell Recording and really made it shine.

Track List:

  1. I Believed
  2. Good Idea at the Time
  3. Martial Law
  4. Give a Damn
  5. Melancholy Tear
  6. Leave a Mark
  7. Rock Off
  8. Happy Home
  9. Donna Jean
  10. Buy American
  11. Daughter of the Scorpion King

Three Sides to Every Story

Three Sides to Every Story is the all-important second album from Tempus Fugitives, coming out in 2016. It’s much more of a home-made affair since I wanted to use the experience picked up from the first record. Once again, I wrote the tunes and played everything (except as noted), and produced, recorded, mixed and mastered it myself. What I lost from a sound quality perspective I think I made up in lessons learned.

Help from my friends includes guitar (5R), bass and background vocals (1) from Jeff “Hawkeye” Sanders, bass from Dale Hymes (2, 6), and drums and percussion from Lisa Rutta (2, 7, 8, 10). And on the title track (1), Terry Carleton recorded the rhythm tracks and played drums at Bones & Knives Studio in San Jose, California.
Special treat: Anne Spector played the fiddle solo on “Welcome to Stunted Hope” (11).

Track List:

  1. Three Sides to Every Story
  2. Chopped Liver
  3. Electric Telephone Woman
  4. I Make Fonkay
  5. Spider Skull Mantra
  6. Ooh Ooh Ooh (Scooter Tune)
  7. Angels Elsewhere
  8. Mr. Inquisition Man
  9. Unravelling
  10. Snow Anymore
  11. Welcome to Stunted Hope

She’s a Carrier for the Blues

Due to overwhelmingly non-existent popular demand, I sprang into action and recorded, mixed, and mastered my – erm, the Tempus Fugitives’ – third album for release in early 2017. The working title was Lock Up Your Daughters, but that got changed to She’s a Carrier for the Blues when I realized that I couldn’t figure out a good cover graphic for the first title. So there ya go – creativity hinges on the smallest details.

I think it’s important to mention that, while I of course wrote all the tunes, “Carrier for the Blues” bears a more than passing resemblance to Jeff Beck’s “Brush with the Blues”. And there’s a reason for that – I was hearing that song in my head when I wrote this one. So really, it’s a collaboration, right? Even though he doesn’t know he was collaborating with me – hell, he’s never even heard of me? Yeah, okay, he wrote the music, I added lyrics, then tried to change the melody enough that it wasn’t a total ripoff.

Help on this album came from Katie Wilson – vocals on #5 and #8, Chloe Feoranzo – clarinet on #3 and #8, plus vox on #8, Anne Spector doing the violin on #6, and Dale Hymes’ bass on #11. Oh – and Sheryl Friesz provided the props and the photo for the cover. The rest is me and the world-class, state-of-the-art facilities of Legendary Third Bedroom Studios.

Track List:

  1. I’m Just Sayin’
  2. Carrier for the Blues
  3. Noir Swing
  4. The Bar Was Open
  5. Calculus of Loneliness
  6. Shadows
  7. Meaningless Rhymes
  8. Cold Cold World
  9. My Heart Won’t Be in It
  10. Once Again I Got the Blues
  11. Maid of Razors
  12. Lock Up Your Daughters

Barb Wire Halo

The TFugs’ fourth album has arrived!  Again, production, recording, mixing and mastering by David at Legendary Third Bedroom Studios, with a notable exception:  “Granny’s Restless Leg” was recorded by Tim Volpicella at Open Path Studios a zillion years ago as a day’s outing for that incarnation of the band (David, Timmy, Hawkeye, Dale Hymes, and Lisa Rutta) to record the tune that we had assembled together.

All tunes by DK, except for “Granny’s Restless Leg”, which started as a goofy, swingy little riff from DK, to which Timmy and Jeff “Hawkeye” Sanders added harmonies and arrangements that transformed it into a real song.  So while they are generally willing to call it one of my songs, as far as I’m concerned, it is a collaboration between all of us.

Track List:

  1.  Barb Wire Halo
  2.  I’m Tired
  3.  Yeah I Guess
  4.  Federico
  5.  Driving Instructor for the FAA
  6.  Ladybug Stomp
  7.  Renard & Sons
  8.  Lie Unspoken
  9.  Me or the Gun
  10.  Granny’s Restless Leg
  11. Rosie Pussytoes

Susy Boyd – American Unrest

Susy sang on “Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time” on the song, “Rock Off”, and she hit it out of the park.  I offered her some cash for the contribution to the record, and she said, “no, how about some studio time instead?”  So I said sure, Hawkeye Sanders came over to contribute some acoustic instruments like guitar, banjo, and mandolin, and we recorded “The Cuckoo”.  And, um, magic kinda happened.  And we talked about doing a bunch of Appalachian murder ballads and began picking and choosing tunes to go on a hypothetical album.  The first version of “Pretty Polly” came next.  We went astray a bit, but while the songs aren’t all murder ballads, that’s the vibe we wanted to bring to the record.  So a quick and dirty recording to thank Susy for her vocal part turned into a couple of years, on and off, of creating a solo album for her.

I produced, recorded, mixed and mastered it, Jeff and I played the bulk of the instruments, and Terry Carleton added drums to a couple of tunes.  We used a recording Susy had from an earlier lifetime (“Dixie Lee”), since I knew we couldn’t improve on it.  It’s an album I am very proud of.  As I told people at the time we were working on it, when you get a chance to hitch a ride on the back of a singer with a voice like that, you just do it and don’t think twice.

Track List:

  1. Trouble So Hard / In My Time of Dying
  2. Seeds
  3. Whipping Post
  4. Sleepy Little Town
  5. Trail of Tears (All My Tears)
  6. Dixie Lee
  7. Fascination Street
  8. The Cuckoo
  9. Pretty Polly
  10. Knocking on Heaven’s Door